Please join us for our Carol Concert at 2:15pm at the church on Thursday 20th – the last day of term!
Spring term starts on January 7th 2019
Merry Christmas – have a wonderful festive break!

Teachers, Staff & Governors

The school is led by the Executive Headteacher, Mrs Kaye Pitcher and joint Heads of School Mrs A Brook and Mrs E Mitchell

Teaching Staff

Wrens & Chicks (nursery)- Mrs Williams

Robins (reception) – Mr Cotton

Wagtails (year 1) -Mrs Bateman Monday, Tuesday, Wednesday & Mrs Curtis –  Thursday, Friday

Starlings (year 2) – Mrs Golay

Kestrels (year 3/4 – Mrs Mitchell  Monday-Wednesday & Mrs Cooper Thursday and Friday

Barn Owls (year 5/6) – Mrs Brook, Spanish Teacher Mrs Daniels (wed pm)

Mrs Brook is also the Co-ordinator of Special Educational Needs (SENCo).

Mrs Pitcher is the designated Child Protection Officer

PPA time covered by Mrs Berrington and Mrs Curtis

Supply teachers Mrs Berrington, Mrs Daniels and Mrs Cooper

Teaching Assistants

All teachers are supported in the classroom by Learning Support Assistants.

Nursery (Wrens & Chicks) -Miss Watson and Miss Clayton

Robins – Miss Smith

Wagtails -Mrs Olivey

Starlings -Mrs Ibbotson

Kestrels -Mrs Brookes

Barn Owls -Mrs Hicks

Our dedicated school caretaker is Mr Roberts

Our school secretary is Mrs V Worrall

School Chef – Mrs Lindsey

Cafe Supervisors – Miss Rees & Mrs Casterton

Lunchtime Supervisory Staff are Mrs Brookes, Miss Smith & Mrs Olivey

Board of Directors

The Learning Academy Trust

The Trust Articles of Association

Charity trustees’ and members’ names

St Merryn School Local Advisory Board (LAB)

(Pecuniary Interests = PI, Attendance as of 31st Aug 15=A)

Chair of Governors: Mr Jeff Brewer (27/11/12 joined Parent Governor) A 90%

Vice Chair of Governors: Mrs Nadia Pendleton (27/11/12 Parent Governors) A 90%

Nadia pictureNadia Pendleton has two children at St Merryn School Luca, 8 and Marcus, 6. She moved to Cornwall from London with her Cornish husband five years ago. She works as a writer and as a hospitality and marketing professional. Passionate about fresh healthy food for all, Nadia started a community kitchens organisation in the East end of London that won support from the National Lottery and the British Medical Journal. She was on the board as a Food Strategist for young people at Tower Hamlets Council in London and still works closely to build links with schools, chefs, suppliers and producers. She has been a school governor for four years.

Executive Headteacher: Mrs Kaye Pitcher  (01/09/17 Headteacher) A 100%

Head of School: Mrs Alison Brook PI – St Merryn Garage (21/09/15 Associate Member) A 100%

IMG_0694 Mrs Brook has been Assistant Head for 11 years. Not only was Alison born in the village but she attended this primary school. Alison has been at this school for 18 years and in education for 27 years.

Head of School: Mrs Ellie Mitchell PI – Wake Up Shake Up Productions (01/09/17) A 100%

Community Governor: Mrs Jean Gledhill (01/12/17) A 100%

Staff Governor: Mrs Tors Golay (01/12/17) A 100%

Staff Governor: Mrs Becky Curtis (01/12/17) A 100%

Mrs Vicky Worrall is Clerk to the governors and also the school secretary.

School model Who are they
Executive Headteacher Mrs Kaye Pitcher
Heads of School Mrs Alison Brook and Mrs Ellie Mitchell
2 Parent Mrs Nadia Pendleton

Mr Jeff Brewer

1 staff (shared role) Mrs Tors Golay

Mrs Becky Curtis


1 Community Mrs Jean Gledhill
Clerk to the governors Mrs Vicky Worral


Any complaints should be addressed to the Chair of Governors Jeff Brewer who is also the whistleblower, his details are available through the school office 01841 520683. The complaints procedure can be found on our ‘policies’ page.